EdoDecides2020: Godwin Obaseki Re-elected As Edo Governor

It’s official. After hours of collation of results, the Independent National Electoral Commission has declared Godwin Obaseki, candidate of the People’s Democratic Party, PDP reelected in the Edo State Governorship Election 2020.

The Returning Officer in the election, Prof. Agofure Rukeh. of the Federal University of Petroleum Technology, Efurun, returned Obaseki reelected after he polled 307,955 votes to beat his closest challenger and candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Pastor Osagie Ize Iyamu who polled 223,619 ballots.

The Returning Officer said having scored the highest number of votes in the election and met all constitutional requirements, he declared Obaseki and his running mate Philip Shuaibu reelected as Governor and Deputy Governor respectively.

According to the Returning Officer,  557,443 persons were accredited for the election. Out of this figure 540,342 people cast their votes. However, 12,835 votes were rejected for various electoral infractions.

Fourteen political parties participated in the election. However, it was clear from the beginning that it was a straight two-horse race between Obaseki and Iyamu. Both men have come a long way in term of political rivalry.

In 2016 Obaseki, then of the APC also gave Iyamu of the PDP a bloody nose.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *